Tags

, , ,


Image

First of all I am not at all a vivid reader , not even close to it, I do read books since around last 10 years, and I am not ashamed to say that I even have read MB and love story by erich segal. I have never ever gave a try to review books or I would have hundreds of them (at least I think this, anyways who says I am a critic more than being a reviewer) .  So here is My part of the story. I bought these two books together. One is Flirting with fate (though I had this book an year ago and I read it too) and another is A WALK Down the LANE. I am writing it exactly as they wrote it on the cover. Now if we check it sarcastically the letters are not just in order.  Anyways that is not the point. The point was something else which urged me to write something about the book. Sarcasm huh ! I don’t CARE.

I don’t know the author personally (thank god for that or she would kill me after reading this). Arpita Ghosh Sarkar. I don’t know if its her first novel or she has written a few before this But I must say she surely has a few more stories cooking up in her mind by now. Such dreamy eyes cannot be left alone by dreams and thoughts. I wanted to talk about the protagonist but I am confused if who she was or he was?? Everyone has been characterized so well that each one has their different story to tell but are revolving around two people so let us talk about them first.

Rini, err… shuvika , and Neel or say Joyneel, two Bengali names given perfectly suitable characters from a bengoli writer. Shuvika represent a 21st century girl with a soul of 20th century which can be easily found in authors, lost cases and a few simple living high thinking girls. Joyneel represents a perfect Bengali man with his simplicity and features.

Both of them were very old known to each other but then time separated them. shit happened in their lives and then they lost control on their actual identity and lost themselves in a forest of machines and concrete.  Joyneel lost himself in a better way with his camera flashes, cigarettes and drinks while shuvika kept herself to Gazals and a multinational bank.

Then what happened??? They met accidently and fell in love…. How When Where is a mystery…. Ragini loves Joyneel, Adi loves shuvika but adi already has a girlfriend and shaomi being a sister and anshul is shuvika’s boss and they all have their stories… Confusing?? Isn’t it??? But no Not at all I must say. The whole book can be read in one go and trust me I read it while I was standing in a crowded metro during my 1 hour journey. I sat there in the metro station and finished the book in one and a half hour only. Yes 198 pages in one and a half hour.  Nothing could stop me reading the book.

I was so mesmerized by the beauty of shuvika that I even ignored the girl stood next to me and could only recognize when she had to go out of the door and she asked me to give her a way, (Damn This Book). I envy Joyneel, Not because of shuvika (as I got a girl best for me) But because of his photography and sketching skills.

The characters are justified with their age, profession and looks. Trust me I now find shuvika in every bank I visit. All of them are same hot but not shuvika. Words chosen beautifully that even a layman like me can understand the depth and can feel the ongoing emotions.

The book costs 100 rupees and is been published by none other than the tycoon srishti publishers. I wonder from where they get such brilliant talent. (I am in queue though).

Now let us come to the point

Why to read the book: If you read love story by erich segal and you are a diehard fan of mills and boons. If you like to read books in one go. If you love the feelings unsaid but felt only. If you ever loved someone so truly that you never bothered their past.

Why Not read it: Don’t read it if you some really good skills in finding mistakes. (I don’t know about those as I hardly cared for spellings). Don’t buy it if you are looking for something to show off. As you can’t keep it close for so long. I would have not bought it if Someone had not handed it to me and said you have to pay for it now.. I did not like the cover much at first sight but then after reading it I got to understand why they kept it so simple.  But still cover lovers you don’t dare to look at it .

I can’t rate the book but yes it is worth reading and being an Indian. It is value for money.

